World of Jazz – 14th April 2011

  1. Art Pepper – Besame Mucho – The Art Pepper Quartet – 25th November 1956 with pianist Russ Freeman, bassist Ben Tucker and drummer Gary Frommer. This album has recently been re-released on the Avid lable as part of the Four Classic Albums series.
  2. Kit Downes – The Wizards – Quiet Tiger – in which young Mr Downes passes the difficult second album test with ease.
  3. Magnus Ostrom – Afila Mi – Thread of Life – another track from the great EST drummer’s first album as a leader.
  4. Art Pepper – Imagination – Art Pepper Meets The Rhythm Section.
  5. Miles Davis – Solea – Miles Davis & Gil Evans : The Complete Columbia Studio Recordings – originally from the classic album Sketches of Spain – a timeless piece of music with Miles at the height of his powers – a song of longing and lament.
  6. Kit Downes – Tambourine – Quiet Tiger
  7. Art Pepper – Mambo de La Pinta – The Return of Art Pepper – another one from Art demonstrating his fliud tone.
  8. Jan Garbarek – Buena Hora, Buenos Vient0s – I took up the runes – Jan got his act together on this album which is altogether more exciting than his usual introspective stuff. Pretty sure I saw this band at the RNCM around this time as was mildly disappointed as it was all a little too laid back.
You can hear the show here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s