World of Jazz – 22nd March 2012

This show focuses on the first great Miles Davis Quintet and their album recorded as part of two mammoth sessions from May and October 1956 which resulted in four great albums Cookin’, Workin’, Relaxin’ and the one being featured tonight – Steamin’.

For context I am also featuring tracks from each of the side-men in the quintet….

Miles Davis (trumpet), Red Garland (piano), John Coltrane (tenor sax), Paul Chambers (bass), and Philly Joe Jones (drums).

You can hear the show via this link

1 Miles Davis Surry with the Fringe on Top Steamin’
2 Paul Chambers Dear Anne Whims of Chambers
3 Miles Davis Something I Dreamed Last Night Steamin’
4 Red Garland What is this thing called love A Garland of Red
5 Miles Davis Well You Needn’t Steamin’
6 John Coltrane Soultrane Mating Call
7 Miles Davis When I Fall In Love Steamin’
8 Philly Joe Jones Minor Mode Showcase
9 Miles Davis Salt Peanuts Steamin’
10 John Coltrane On A Misty Night Mating Call

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s