Fishy Business

Plastic Fish Records is a Leeds based independent UK record label which provides the voice and the support for underground bands. They have already signed a variety of indie acts who, they say,  represent the sound of youth and vigorous energy from all over the world.

On the 27th October 2014 they  will release a compilation EP called “American Sole”, which will include the best upcoming new indie acts from The UK, The States and Europe.

This is a fresh and entertaining collection of new music with some stand-out material. If you are in search of new and interesting bands to introduce some variety into your listening then you would do well to invest in this eight song 30 minute collection.

Artists featured on the release are:

“Beach Youth” is an indie-pop band from Normandy in France. The band consists on Simon Dumottier, Etienne Froidure, Louis-Antonin Lesieur and Gautier Caignaert. As their name suggests, this four-piece and their new single “Days” have an unmistakable taste for tropical rhythms and sun-soaked instrumentation which sits comfortably between Swim Deep, Phoenix and Magic Man.

“The Sea The Sea” are Danny Crane-Brewer, David Freeman, Matthew Clarkson, Marcus Breese and Stu Norfolk are from Oxford who have recently performed with the likes of Tall Ships, My Grey Horse and the Black Tambourines. Their new single “Captives” is all about twin guitars, dynamic soundscapes and an underlying authenticity, which can be easily compared to Klaxons and The 1975.


“Joey Fourr” is the new lo-fi indie pop project from ex-Tubelord frontman Joe Prendergast, which has been supported by the likes of Crack Magazine. As Joey Fourr, Predergast creates memorable and drum machine-powered tunes which, in their core, resemble the likes of Happy Mondays, Beach Fossils and Fear Of Men. His latest single “Boyz II Girlz” is all about hooky vocal lines, animated forward motion and shambolic energy.


“Nicotine Dream” a  New York-based duo consisting of Nicholas Burk and Marshall Rauh who are all about raw energy and emotion. Like a blend between Swim Deep’s youthful carelessness with a touch of White Lies’ professional precision, Nicotine Dream’s new single “Don’t See It Coming” shows that authentic guitar music is timeless.


“Yoofs” are a pristine and proggish indie pop duo from Bournemouth.  Getting inspired by the likes of John Lennon, Tame Impala and Portugal The Man, their upcoming single “Can’t Think” presents the dreamy, detached sneer of the vocals beautifully combined with atmospheric guitars, soaring harmonies and creating the sonically radiant surge of energy. The stand out track on the compilation.

“King TV” – a London based lo-fi four-piece who fit in perfectly somewhere between The Vaccines, The Dandy Warhols and The Warlocks. Their latest single “Stop Your Crying” is all about guitar riffs, psychedelia and glam. It bristles with the infallible ease and confidence that all the best debuts have.


“Ghosthouse” A Chicago-based electro-funk trio know how to balance analog ideals and digital reality. Chuck New, Jimmy Con and Dylan Hyde Castle have mastered a way of combining the modern DJ culture with live instrumentation and dynamic 80s production. Influenced by the likes of Chromeo, The Clash and Madness, “Carry On” is all about a killer melody and colourful vocal lines. Chuck New’s impressive vocal range bears the influences of classic mid-west R&B and British new wave, with a remarkable knack for engaging melodies and harmonies set to dynamic beats.


“Inspired And The Sleep” – What began as a solo project for songwriter Max Greenhalgh has since evolved into a 4 piece psychedelic indie pop outfit, filled out by the San Diegan boys Bryce Outcault (guitar and keys), Zach Elliot (drums), and Ryan Linvill (tenor sax). A mixture between Here We Go Magic, The Kinks and The Kooks, Inspired And The Sleep focus on rhythm, melody and vocal lines. Greenhalgh’s loop-based ideas are reworked through collaborative effort into full-band, groove-based pop tunes. Their new single “Pool Guard” shows the San Diego band’s refined approach to constructing tunes with enhanced production while hinting towards Greenhalgh’s previous lo-fi ponderings.


You can preview the release here……

And you can pre-order the whole lot here –

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s