Reaping Discipline

Various Artists
(We’ve Got) FIENDS IN LOW PLACES: Heavy Vibes Internationale
Eolian Empire
Release: 3 February 2015


Portland, Oregon outsider/underground label Eolian Empire have released details of their thirtieth  release which comes in the form of a various artists compilation (We’ve Got) FIENDS IN LOW PLACES: Heavy Vibes Internationale,

This special collection marks a new start for the Eolian team, since to date they have only released Portland-centric music. FIENDS IN LOW PLACES features a glut of output from the Eolian acts from around the globe; a gnarled calling card, with more than fifty minutes of champions of the international heavy underground in North and South America, Europe, Australia, and Japan. Fifteen bands bash away on a selection of stark, aggressive, noise-laden tunes, an eclectic and electric collection of heavy, noisy, weird, outsider, and underground music.

Featuring THROAT(Finland), ARABROT (Norway), HEALTH PROBLEMS (USA), MoE(Finland), THE GREAT SABATINI (Canada), DEAD (Australia),BASTARD OF THE SKIES (England), HOMBRE MALO (Norway),SAME-SEX DICTATOR(USA), TEEPH (USA), CYBERNE (Japan),TIMEKILLER (Japan), ELEPHANT RIFLE (USA), BATPISS (Australia), and MEADOWS (England) this collection of musical misfits take you on a wild trip through twisted noise rock, bludgeoning sludge, psychotic metal, blackened hardcore, and damaged punk.

FIENDS IN LOW PLACES is the sequel and companion compilation to Eolian’s (We’ve Gotta) KEEP OUR HEADS: Heavy Vibes from Portland, Oregon, which featured twenty-six heavy Portland bands.

FIENDS IN LOW PLACES is available for will see cassette and digital release on February 3rd, 2015.

Track Listing:
1. MEADOWS “Gobshite”
2. SAME-SEX DICTATOR “Mass Krusader”
3. ARABROT “The Libertine”
4. THROAT “Clean Cleaner”
5. CYBERNE “Pozes”
6. HEALTH PROBLEMS “A Stuck Horse”
7. BASTARD OF THE SKIES “Brass Cattle”
9. BATPISS “Heavy Smoke (Stoned to Death)”
10. TEEPH “Church Vape Sesh”
11. HOMBRE MALO “The Fall”
12. TIMEKILLER “Sick of Myself”
13. MOE “Where’s the DJ”
14. ELEPHANT RIFLE “Frat Poison”
15. DEAD “Rabbits”

An excellent selection of bands with sufficient variety to maintain interest for nearly 55 minutes of listening. The stand out track of the collection is from the delightfully named Batpiss. Overall this is a fine statement of the health of the outsider/underground music scene.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s