Fascinating Things : Issue 15

Magic Bullet Records are releasing  ” Deathkamp Ov The Skull + Funeral Embrace” from West Coast hardcore nihilists, (The Infamous) Gehenna, collecting both of the outfit’s two latest 7” titles in convenient CD and digital formats.

The bands healthy back catalogue of sixteen releases can be found on Bandcamp and you can follow them on Facebook.


Neurosis has just announced the band’s plans to celebrate three full decades together with their fans on two continents in early 2016, including shows in their native Bay Area and at Roadburn Festival in The Netherlands. Additionally, the band will release deluxe vinyl reissues of two of their most revered and long out-of-print titles; “Through Silver In Blood” and “Times Of Grace”.
Album “Nº3” from Christina Vantzou is the result of a two-year process of composing, arranging, rearranging, experimenting, and melding classical instruments with synths and electronics. Recorded in Belgium with a 15-piece ensemble of strings, horns, woodwinds and micro-choir, the tracks vacillate between orchestral, ambient soundscapes and more structured works that the composer refers to as “pillars.” The internal core of the record, however, is unwavering. All tracks head in the direction of otherworldly drones surrounded by soft, subtle and sometimes intense veils or points.The structured tracks mark a new direction for Vantzou. Whereas 100% of the music on Nº1 and Nº2 was composed without time structure or steady click, the pillars on Nº3 adhere to a solid mathematical scheme. Perhaps Vantzou’s day job as a maths teacher is starting to have an influence.Nº3’s virtual instruments and voice samples hearken back to Vantzou’s time with The Dead Texan, specifically tracks like “Aegina Arlines” and “When I see scissors I cannot help but think of you”. The synths on Nº3 were given special attention and were recorded over a two week period using a DX7, Yamaha CS20, Roland Juno-6, and a selection of eurorack modular synths, making Nº3 very much a hybrid record, both symphonic and synth-based.
The album is released on Kranky on October 3rd.
Following hot on the heels of ‘The Witch House’ EP Flowers In the Dustbin have announced that this Halloween that they will  be releasing a new compilation album from The Creeping Ivies – ‘Your New Favourite Garage Band’. The album features 13 single, ep and album tracks with many appearing on cd for the first time. Here are some tasters

The album is available to preorder on Bandcamp with an immediate download of 4 tracks – ‘The Witch House’ plus all 3 tracks from the Ghost Train ep.  Singles featured on the compilation include ‘What Would Joey Ramone Do?’ and ‘Spinning’.

The album is out Saturday 31st October, available on cd and digital from Amazon, itunes, online stores worldwide and selected record shops via Scottish label Flowers In The Dustbin.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s