Some times dreamy, always engaging….

Andy Sheppard

Surrounded By Sea


June 2nd 2015

Andy Sheppard: tenor and soprano saxophones
Eivind Aarset: guitar
Michel Benita: double bass
Sebastian Rochford: drums

Extending the range of his widely-praised Trio Libero project with Michel Benita and Seb Rochford, Andy Sheppard adds Eivind Aarset (who made significant contributions to 2008’s Movements In Colour) to the band. With Aarset’s ambient drones and electronic textures as a backdrop, Sheppard and co seem to have even more space to explore. The music  includes new compositions, open improvisations, an Elvis Costello tune, and the Gaelic traditional ballad “Aoidh, Na Dean Cadal Idir” which appears in three variations, a thematic thread through the album. This is Sheppard’s third album for ECM.

I’ve long been a fan of both Sheppard and Aarset, particularly the work the latter did with Nils Petter Molvaer, and it is good to hear the two of them working together in this setting. I totally disagree with Ivan Hewitt’s comments in the Telegraph about the guitarists contribution to this release, rather than dominate Eivind adds beautiful colours and tones to the trio and delivers some of his most restrained work to date. Ian Patterson’s All About Jazz review is far more complimentary and more accurately reflects the graceful and measured feel of the album. Benita and Rochford work well together giving Sheppard the space to explore and extemporise.

It’s an ECM album so it is going to have that Nordic “Eicher” touch, Sheppard has embraced that fully and delivers one of his most beautiful sets to date. The music is serene, offering an often pastoral atmosphere, sometimes dreamy, but always engaging. Comparisons with Jan Garbarek are inevitable in this context and there is some read over between the two horn men although Sheppard employs a warmer and sometimes more breathy tone, and the music is more urgent and dynamic than Garbarek’s approach.

Sheppard brings his quartet to Band on the Wall, Manchester on 24th November (from 7:30pm) for what promises to be one of the stand-out jazz gigs of the year in the city. Tickets are available here


World of Jazz – 26th July 2012

On this one mostly recent releases – listen here

1 Troyka Oedipus Moxxy
2 Erik Truffaz Nina’s Dream Rendez-Vouz : Paris
3 John Abercrombie Blues Connotation Within A Song
4 Aziza Mustafa Zadeh Carnival Dance of Fire
5 Erik Truffaz Al Mediodia Rendez-Vouz : Mexico
6 Andy Sheppard The Unconditional Secret Trio Libero
7 Miles Davis Jean Pierre We Want Miles
8 Erik Truffaz Yay! Rendez-Vouz : Benares
9 Trio VD Ducks Maze
10 The Bad Plus Empire Strikes Backwards Suspicious Activity?

World of Jazz Radio Show – 14th June 2012

On this weeks show….which you listen to here….a focus on Andy Sheppard, and a track for the great Pete Cosey who died last week… a few other  things:

1 Andy Sheppard Meeting Sylvan(Who Moves in Mysterious Ways) Dancing Men & Women
2 Esbjorn Svensson Trio Three Falling Free Part 1 301
3 Gene Ammons Jungle Strut The Boss Is Back
4 Andy Sheppard Ballarina Movements in Colour
5 Lester Young Lester Leaps In Lester Young In Washington DC 1956 Vol 2
6 Sonny Rollins Kim G-Man
7 Stockhausen, Anderson, Heral, Sendecki Electric Treasures Two Electric Treasures
8 Andy Sheppard Nocturnal Tourist Nocturnal Tourist
9 Wynton Kelly Don’t Explain Piano (Whisper Not)
10 Miles Davis Tatu (Calypso Frelimo) pt 2 Dark Magus

World of Jazz – 29th December 2011

On this show

  • Cannonball Adderley – Love For Sale – Somethin’ Else (1958)
  • Cornelius Claudio Kreusch – So! – Black Mud Sound (1995)
  • Patricia Barber – The Beat Goes On – Companion (1999)
  • Marcus Miller – Tales – Tales (1994)
  • Club D’Elf – As Above – Live at Tonic, New York (2005)
  • Bruford Levin Upper Extremities – Etude Revisited – BLUE Nights (2000)
  • Andy Sheppard – Still Passing – Dancing Man and Woman (2000)
  • Oliver Nelson – Stolen Moments – The Blues and the Abstract Truth (1961)
 To listen click the link below

World of Jazz – 29th December 2011 by Bobonscr on Mixcloud

World of Jazz – 14th July 2011 – Focus on the ECM record lable

ECM (Edition of Contemporary Music) record label was founded in Munich,  in 1969 by Manfred Eicher. Best known for jazz music, ECM has released a wide variety of recordings, and the artists on the labels roster demonstrates with ease the capacity to blur the boundaries between genres.

ECM’s motto is “the Most Beautiful Sound Next to Silence,” as evidenced by the selection of recordings released by the label.

  1. Dave Holland Quintet – Serenade – Points of View
  2. Edward Vesala Sound and Fury – Caccaroo Boohoo – Invisible Storm
  3. Misha Alperin – Etude – North Story
  4. Michael Formanek – Jack’s Last Call – The Rub and Spare Change
  5. Andy Sheppard – Bing – Movements in Colour
  6. Colin Wallcott – Cloud Dance – Cloud Dance
  7. Gary Peacock, Paul Motian, Paul Bley – Set Up Set – Not Two, Not One
  8. Bennie Maupin – The Jewel in the Lotus – The Jewel in the Lotus
To listen to the show click the link below