World of Jazz – 1st November 2012

The last show to be broadcast on Salford City Radio – the show will continue in podcast form on Mixcloud from next week…..

As a bit of a celebration a selection of my favourite jazz artists:

  • John Coltrane – Alabama – Live At Birdland
  • Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Dat Dere – The Complete Blue Note Recordings
  • Lee Morgan – Stormy Weather – Sonic Boom
  • Miles Davis – Shhh/Peaceful – In A Silent Way
  • Duke Ellington – Perdido –  Masterpieces 1926-1949
  • Roland Kirk – The Black & Crazy Blues – The Inflated Tear
  • Chet Baker – The Night We Called It A Day – Embraceable You
  • John Coltrane – Like Someone In Love – Lush Life

Listen here………

World of Jazz – 5th January 2012 – Blue Note Special

To listen to the show click on this link – the playlist is all classic Blue Note material – predominantly from the 1960s


Lou Donaldson


Midnight Creeper


Midnight Creeper

Blue Mitchell Mona’s  Mood The Thing To Do
Lee Morgan Ceora Cornbread
Jackie McLean Blue Rondo One Step Beyond
Art Blakey  and the Jazz Messengers It’s Only A Paper Moon The Complete Blue Note recordings of Art Blakey’s 1960 Jazz Messengers
Horace Silver Quintet Melancholy Mood Further Explorations by the Horace Silver Quintet
Stanley Turrentine Somethings Happening To Me Hustlin’
Joe Lovano Like Someone In Love I’m All For You
Hank Mobley Speak Low Peckin’ Time


World of Jazz – 6th October 2011

On this show:

  • Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers – Lester Left Town -The Blue Note recordings of Art Blakey’s 1960 Jazz Messengers – wrongly described by me on the show as a recent release – this actually came out in 1992 – I was getting confused with the Miles Davis set next up in the show. This Wayne Shorter classic shows this great line-up at its very best.
  • Miles Davis Quintet – Riot- Live in Europe 1967 The Bootleg Series Volume 1 – A brand new mammoth 3 CD/1 DVD release which captures a series of live dates from the second great quintet. Comparable to “The Complete Live at the Plugged Nickel” in the mind stretching ability of this band to deconstruct and revive jazz….on the show I describe this as Round Midnight when it is in fact Riot – this is due to my ineptitude and the mislabling of the CD….that’ll teach me to pay more attention.
  • Bob James – Night Crawler – Heads –  Grover Washington, Jr. (tenor & soprano sax) and David Sanborn (alto sax) feature on this 1977 date from James – derided by the purists at too “pop” i’d argue it acts as a useful counterpoint and yardstick to the more challenging end of the jazz world.
  • Cannonball Adderley – Make Your Own Temple – Soul of the Bible – A 1972 release from Cannonball’s quintet featuring four additional percussionists and George Duke on Keyboards.
  • Nat Adderley – Funny Funny – Don’t Look Back – A 1976 release on Steeplechase featuring Fernando Gumbs (bass) Onaje Allan Gumbs (piano) Nat Adderley (cornet) Ken McIntyre (alto sax, oboe, bassoon, flute, bass clarinet) John Stubblefield (tenor sax, soprano sax)Ira Buddy Williams (drums) Victor See Yuen (congas, percussion).
  • Miles Davis Quintet – Footprints – Live in Europe 1967 The Bootleg Series Volume 1  – another tune from Disc 2 of this great release with Wayne Shorter’s keynote composition.
  • Harold Land – In the back, in the corner, in the dark – Damisi – modal music from 1974 showing the early influences of fusion and funk – the excellent Buster Williams is on bass. Must play more Harold Land as he is terribly underrated which is great pity for such a great musician.
  • Miles Davis Quintet – Riot – Live in Europe 1967 The Bootleg Series Volume 1  – a Herbie Hancock composition from the third CD of this great set.
  • The Shadows – Nivram – Out of the Shadows – as requested by drummer of this parish Mr Michael John Leigh who advises this tune forms the basis of part of The Blimps recent Bin Bag Shuffle release (still available free as a download from here). Is it Jazz? I think so….
  • Gabor Szabo – The Fortune Teller – Dreams – Third stream wonderment from Szabo from 1969….
Listen to the show by following the link below…..

World of Jazz – 11th August 2011

A mixture of old and newer material on this one:

  • Blue Mitchell – Samba De Stacy – Down With It – from 1965  with a quintet that features a young Chick Corea on piano, tenor saxophonist Junior Cook, bassist Gene Taylor, and drummer Al Foster, Mitchell creates a laid-back atmosphere typified by the bossa nova sounds of “Samba De Stacy”.
  • Chris Cundy & Dominic Lash – Ginko’s Corner – Two Plump Sisters – I saw Chris playing in St Annes Church as part of the Manchester Jazz Festival and was very impressed with his playing – so I contacted him and he sent me some tracks. Thanks Chris!
  • Art Blakey – Soul Finger – Soul Finger – released on Limelight in 1965 marks Lee Morgan’s and Freddie Hubbard’s final studio appearances as members of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers. Morgan had been an on-again-off-again member since the 1950s, but his tenure with Blakey through the early 1960s remained fairly constant. The set also includes a young John Hicks on piano, bassist Victor Sproles, and veteran saxophonist Lucky Thompson.
  • Stuart McCallam – Inflight – Distilled – from the new album as featured on last weeks show.
  • Sam Jones – Some Kinda Mean – The Soul Society – Bassist Sam Jones’ debut as a leader resulted in one of his finest recordings and features cornetist Nat Adderley, trumpeter Blue Mitchell, Jimmy Heath on tenor, baritonist Charles Davis, and pianist Bobby Timmons.
  • Gannets – Walking the Gannet – featuring Chris Cundy again with Alex Ward, Fyfe Dangerfield, Dominic Lash,   and Steve Noble – from an album which will be released some time next year.
  • Horace Parlan – Rastus – Speakin’ My Piece – one of the first albums where Parlan was able to shine with his  own subtle playing working well  with an excellent  backing band of Stanley Turrentine,  bassist George Tucker, drummer Al Harewood
  • Rise – Dusk on the Sudan – Messages – Rise is a twenty-something beat technician / crate-digger / musician from Manchester. Currently recording for the Futuristica Music label, Rise has worked with and produced for artists such as Deborah Jordan, Replife, Jazz Chronicles, Low Budget Soul, Beit Nun, Truth and Spinnerty to name but a few. Under aliases such as Meccca:83 and REdefinition, he continues to explore new genres and spaces: expanding the ever growing list of pseudonyms that make up the Solar Sound System. 2011 sees the release of the debut Rise album “Messages” on Futuristica Music which is a deep, spiritual jazz record with splashes of hip hop and heavily influenced by Pharoah Sanders, Alice Coltrane, Madlib, Strata East and Black Jazz. For lovers of the Jazzman label, Nostalgia 77, Cinematic Orchestra and JDilla!
  • Peter Evans Quintet – Ghost – Ghosts – Evans’ latest release on his own More is More imprint is made unique by  the lap-top live processing of Sam Pluta. At times, this Evans quintet operates as a classic jazz group , with Pluta’s laptop vying on equal terms with the acoustic instrumentation, but at others the core jazz quartet are in part manipulated  through Pluta’s laptop to create an entirely unique listening experience.
  • Peter Evans Quintet – Chorales – Ghost
To listen to the show click the link