Aural Delights Radio Show – 16th May 2012

On this weeks show (listen here):

1 Termites Dumb Rock Termites
2 Moving Magnets Stuck On A Wall Stuck On A Wall
3 The Stroll Different Tune, Different Mood Demo Track
4 B>E>A>K Stairway to Herndon The White Edition
5 Island Audio Tick Tock Obstacles
6 Peter Hammill A Run of Luck Consequences
7 Moff Skellington Birds Eating Berries Thorny Conduits
8 Sylvester Anfang II Jam 4 Latitudes
9 Raving Wild Colder Demo Track
10 Mike Gatto Fast Cars and Razorblades Single
11 The Cramps Give Me A Woman The Secret Life of the Cramps
12 Soul Remedy Time Has No Meaning
13 Silence Rises Shallow Water Free Music
14 Gentle Giant I Lost My Head Interview

Aural Delights Radio Show – 9th May 2012

On this weeks show :

1 Kodakid Pray for some luck Shake Skin
2 BEAK Kehar The White Edition
3 The Rhubarbs Guilt Single
4 Moff Skellington Spudsack Soldiers Thorny Conduits
5 Kerosene My Obsession Face The Real
6 Ufomammut Magickon ORO – Opus Primum
7 Johnny Cooper Moving On Single
8 The Stroll They Can’t See Demo Track
9 Raving Wild Raving Wild Demo Track
10 Peter Hammill Bravest Face Consequences
11 Moving Magnets Bonnie & Clyde Stuck On A Wall
12 Screaming Martini Sold Out of Sell Outs Demo Track
13 Metallic Taste of Blood Sectile Metallic Taste of Blood

Notes in respect of the above – none thie week due to other commitments….

World of Jazz – 21st April 2011 – Tribute to Billy Bang

A tribute to the recently departed jazz violinist Billy Bang interspersed with new music which hovers on the edge of jazz.

Billy Bang’s virtuosity and technique brought the violin into modern jazz  and his work in various sub-genres of the music can be found over a series of great records, especially his work with Kahil el Zabar’s Ritual Trio. On the show a dip into some of his best work.

  1. Billy Bang – Music for the Love of it – Sweet Space – Recorded live at the Loeb Student Center, New York University, November 15, 1979. Billy Bang – violin, Frank Lowe – tenor sax, Luther Thomas – alto sax, Butch Morris – cornet, Curtis Clark – piano, Wilbur Morris – bass, Steve McCall – drums.
  2. Me and My Friends – Un Sentiment Inespere – Promo EP – A Leeds based band with an interesting blend of jazz and folk. Nick Rasle – vocals, guitar; Emma Coleman – vocals, cello; Aurielie Labrosse – vocals, saxophone; Michael Sprack -percussion ; James Grunwell – (additional) Bass.
  3. Beak – Diving for Mackeral – The Red Edition – fascinating band from Sunderland blending jazz and rock in an exciting new sound – you can get the EP for free from here.
  4. Billy Bang – P.M. – Valve No 10 – In 1988, Billy Bang traveled to Italy on the eve of a new European tour with his current quartet, laying down seven tracks for an album which partially was a  tribute album to John Coltrane. Billy Bang- violin, Frank Lowe- tenor sax, Sirone- bass, Denis Charles – drums.
  5. Me and My Friends – Warm Up – Promo EP
  6. Julia Dowler – Let Me – Direct from the Artist – the smoky bluesy jazz stylings of Stoke of Trent’s Julia which in this instance get very close structurally to 70s prog.
  7. Kahil El Zabar’s Ritual Trio with Billy Bang – Big M – Big M, a tribute to Malachi Favors
  8. Beak – Birds on the Moon – The Red Edition
  9. Billy Bang – Ru Con – Vietnam: Reflections – one of a pair of albums reflecting on Billy’s time in Vietnam as a member of the armed forces. Billy Bang – violin, James Spauling – alto sax & flute, Henry Threadgill – flute, Ted Daniel – trumpet, John Hicks – piano, Curtis Lundy – bass, Michael Carvin – drums, Ron Brown – percussion, Co Boi Nguyen – vocalist, Nihan Thanh Ngo – dan tranh.
  10. Phil Woods – Star Eyes – Birds of a Feather – This 1981 album was pianist Hal Galper’s first recording as a member of the Phil Woods band,  bassist Steve Gilmore and drummer Bill Goodwin make up the rest of the quartet.   When it comes to modern bebop Phil Woods is one of the best and his solos on this album are consistently   inventive and exciting.
  11. Billy Bang – Bien Hoa Blues – Vietnam : The Aftermath – the other Vietnam album this time the line-up is Billy Bang – violin, Frank Lowe – tenor sax, Sonny Fortune – flute. John Hicks – piano, Curtis Lundy – bass, Ron Brown – percussion, Michael Carvin – drums
  12. Ella Fitzgerald – Cryin’ Mood – That Old Black Magic – confusingly there are three Ella albums with this title – this is the Laserlight compilation from 2002.
To listen to the show click on the link below