World of Jazz – 31st May 2012

It’s all gone a bit funky on this show, blame the recent hot weather ….listen here.

1 Miles Davis Catembe Amandla
2 Ikembe Shakedown Pepper Ikembe Shakedown
3 Jack DeJohnette The Gri Gri Man Tin Can Alley
4 Jack McDuff Dit Do Dat Sophisticated Funk
5 Thelonious Monk Boo Boo’s Birthday Underground
6 Art Farmer and Benny Golson Easy Living Meet the Jazztet
7 Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears Livin’ In the Jungle Scandalous
8 Marcus Miller Mr Clean Renaissance
9 Miles Davis U ‘n’ I Star People
10 Monophonics Sure Is Funky In your Brain
11 Kenny Burrell & John Coltrane I Never Knew Kenny Burrell & John Coltrane

World of Jazz Radio Show – 10th November 2011

Featured on this show……

  • Benny Golson – Groves Groove – New Time New ‘Tet (2009) : Benny Golson: saxophone; Eddie Henderson: trumpet; Steve Davis: trombone; Mike LeDonne: piano; Buster Williams: bassist; Carl Allen: drums.
  • Andrew Hill – Yesterday’s Tomorrow – Passing Ships (1969) – featuring performances recorded in 1969 but not released on the Blue Note label until 2003. The album features Hill with a large horn section performing seven original compositions.  Andrew Hill – piano; Dizzy Reece, Woody Shaw – trumpet ; Joe Farrell – alto flute, English horn, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone ; Howard Johnson – bass clarinet, tuba; Robert Northern – french horn; Julian Priester – trombone; Ron Carter – bass; Lenny White – drums
  • Donny McCaslin – Five Hands Down – Perpetual Motian (2010) : Donny McCaslin: tenor saxophone; Adam Benjamin: Fender Rhodes and piano ; Tim Lefebvre: electric bass; Antonio Sanchez: drums.
  • Markus Stockhausen – Madhawi – Joyosa (2004) : Markus Stockhausen (trumpet, flugelhorn), Ferenc Snetberger (guitar), Arild Andersen (bass), Patrice Heral (drums, percussion)
  • Julie La Montagne Trio featuring Donny McCaslin – Lost in the Cycle – What Now (2010) : Julie on the piano with Dave Watts on double bass and Richard Irwin on drums, with special guest: New York saxophonist Donny McCaslin. As a measure of its excellence, the album won the OPUS award 2010 (jazz creation of the year).
  • Mats Eilerson – Birds Perspective – Sky Dive (2011) : Tore Brunborg: saxophones; Thomas T. Dahl: guitar; Alexi Tuomarila: piano, Fender Rhodes; Olavi Louhivouri: drums; Mats Eilertsen: double-bass.
  • Nico Morelli – Tarante – Nico Morelli  (2003) : Nico Morelli – piano; Marc Boronforsse – bass ; Stefano di Batistta – sax; Stephane Kerecki- bass – there are four drummers on the album and its not clear which one is playing on this.
  • Donny McCaslin – Tanya – Soar (2006) – Donny McCaslin: tenor saxophone, flute, alto flute, vocals; Luciana Souza: vocals ; Ben Monder: guitar; Pernell Saturnino: percussion
  • James Farm – Bijou – James Farm (2011) : formed in 2009, James Farm is an acoustic jazz quartet consisting of saxophonist Joshua Redman, pianist Aaron Parks, bassist Matt Penman, and drummer Eric Harland. These four free-thinking musicians all individually hold a stake in the future of jazz, and together form a group with a new take on song-based improvisation, a group that invites you to share in the navigation of their own musical future.
  • Richie Barron & 3 Soul Brothers – Gold Country Blues – Freeway Lover (2011) : Richie Barron & “3-Soul-Bros.” Billy Noteman & Stewart Viets on Cdbaby NOW! Apparently I am required to down a glass of tequila at this point but as I have none in I will sip on a Gordon’s Gin instead.
To listen to the show click on the link below

World of Jazz Radio Show – 15th September 2011

A mixed bag of older stuff this week…..i’ll be prowling the record emporia of Mancunia tomorrow so maybe some new things next week…

  • Phil Ranelin – Sounds from the Village – Vibes from the Tribe (1976) : was one of the Detroit jazz scene’s unsung heroes, releasing several excellent, politicized albums that blended post-Coltrane avant-garde jazz, post-Bitches Brew psychedelia, hard bop, funk, and African rhythms. In 1971, trombonist Ranelin and saxophonist Wendell Harrison started a band,  recording company, and magazine, and called them the Tribe.   Vibes From the Tribe was the last of eight records issued by Tribe/Time Is Now Productions. The  CD release of the album is the first of the label’s recordings to be issued in full, with added bonus tracks.  John McEntire of the band Tortoise has restored the master tapes, and added some touches to the unreleased material which give the music a contemporary feel.
  • Paul Chambers – Dear Old Stockholm – Bass on Top (1957) – the great bassist from the first Miles Davis Quintet features here one of his seven albums as a leader -it is a set of straight-ahead, mainstream jazz  with a quartet made up of Chambers,  guitarist Kenny Burrell, pianist Hank Jones, and drummer Art Taylor.
  • Ramon Morris – Wijinia – Sweet Sister Funk (2004) – this lone Morris Groove Merchant date remains one of the most impressive fusion records of its time. Morris soulful tenor saxophone fits well in jazz-funk  and the album  achieves a near-perfect balance between the mainstream and the experimental leaning. The band includes trumpeter Cecil Bridgewater and percussionist Tony Waters. It is a real pity that Morris never again recorded as a leader as this album promised so much more.
  • Weather Report – A Remark You Made – 8:30 (1979) – This was a rare quartet version of Weather Report, with co-leaders in keyboardist Joe Zawinul and saxophonist Wayne Shorter are the phenomenal  bassist Jaco Pastorius, and drummer Peter Erskine. Shorter shines through on this excellent melodic track.
  • Yusef Lateef – The Plum Blossom – Eastern Sounds (1961) – one of the last recordings made by the band that Lateef shared with pianist Barry Harris after the band moved to New York from Detroit. Lateef  had long been interested in Eastern music, and  this Moodsville session contains his explorations of Eastern mode and interval, as well as tonal and polytonal improvisation.
  • Al Haig Trio – Autumn in New York – Esoteric (1954) – One of three albums that pianist Al Haig made in 1954 before leaving the scene  for the next 20 years, this long out-of-print recording was reissued on CD by the Spanish Fresh Sound label. The bop pioneer is heard with bassist Bill Crow and drummer Lee Abrams.
  • Milt Jackson – Spanish Fly – In A New Setting (1964) –  one of his best as a leader. With young pianist McCoy Tyner and tenor saxophonist Jimmy Heath, Jackson delivers a great session,
  • Benny Golson – Venetian Breeze – The Modern Touch (1958) – Golson’s second album as a leader   is a solid hard bop date featuring the tenorman in a quintet with trumpeter Kenny Dorham, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Max Roach.
  • Kenny Gill – Virgo/Libra – What Was, What Is, What Will Be (1971) – a great solo piece demonstrating the freer side of Gill’s work.
  • Charlie Rouse – Pretty Strange – Takin’ Care of Business – Rouse’s debut as a leader  The distinctive tenor saxophonist, who had just started a decade-long stint as a member of the Thelonious Monk Quartet, teams up with trumpeter Blue Mitchell, pianist Walter Bishop, Jr., bassist Earl May, and drummer Art Taylor.
To listen to the show click on the link below…….