World of Jazz Radio Show – 12th July 2012

Listen to the show here:

1 Cannonball Adderley You Got It Live in San Francisco
2 Charles Williams Ain’t No Blues Stickball
3 Grover Washington Jr Love Makes It Better A Secret Place
4 Jimmy Smith A Subtle One Midnight Special
5 John Coltrane Africa (First Version) The Complete Africa/Brass Sessions
6 Miles Davis Flamenco Sketches Kind of Blue 50th Anniversary Edition
7 John Taylor Fable Angel of the Presence

World of Jazz Radio Show – 28th June 2012 – In the Jungle!

Listen here

1 Duke Ellington Echoes of the Jungle Masterpieces 1926-1949 #1 Mood Indigo
2 Acoustic Ladyland Living With A Tiger Living With A Tiger
3 Joe Lovano Moose the Mooche Bird Songs
4 Carla Bley/Paul Haines Song of the Jungle Stream Tropic Appetites
5 Cannonball Adderley Hippodelphia Mercy. Mercy, Mercy
6 Manu Dibango Monkey Beat Africadelic
7 Malatu Astakte and the Heliocentrics Phantom of the Panther Inspiration Information
8 Sly and the Family Stone Africa Talks to the Ashphalt Jungle There’s A Riot Going On
9 The Shaolin Afronauts The Quiet Lion Flight of the Ancients
10 The Bad Plus Rhinoceros is My Profession Suspicious Activity?

World of Jazz Radio Show – 10th May 2012

On this weeks show – which can be heard here:

1 Austin Peralta The Underwater Mountain Odyssey Endless Planets
2 Cannonball Adderley The Sidewalks of New York Things are getting better
3 Ahmad Jamal Mystifying Picture Perfect
4 Etta Jones Yes Sir That’s My Baby Don’t go the strangers
5 John Coltrane Aisha Ole Coltrane
6 Terence Blanchard Touched By An Angel Choices
7 Thelonious Monk Blue Bolivar Blues Monk’s Dream
8 Codona Codona Codona
9 Oregon Margueritte Winter Light


  1. From the 2011 album on the Brainfeeder lable – piano prodigy Peralta delivering exciting modern jazz with the assistance of Zane Musa (alto sax), Ben Wendel (tenor and soprano), Hamilton Price (bass) and Zach Harmon (drums).
  2. Cannonball with an all star band from October 1958 on the Riverside lable with Percy Heath(bass), Art Blakey (drums), Wynton Kelly (piano) and Milt Jackson (vibes).
  3. Recorded in New York in 2000 and released on the Birdology lable –  Ahmad Jamal: piano; James Cammack : bass; Idris Muhammad: drums.
  4. This 1960 album was Etta’s  first album for  Prestige  , and although she  had been releasing records since 1944, including a dozen reords for RCA in 1946 and an album for King Records in 1957, she was treated as an overnight sensation when the title tune from the album went gold, hitting the Top 40 on the pop charts and reaching number five on the R&B charts.
  5. Classic ‘Trane from 1961 and a co-composition with McCoy Tyner – great solos from Freddie Hubbard and Eric Dolphy.
  6.  Blanchard’s debut recording on the Concord label from 2009. The band features pianist Fabian Almazan, with Derrick Hodge on bass, drummer Kendrick Scott,  Lionel Loueke on guitar and  saxophonist Walter Smith III.
  7. Columbia Records 1962 debut release featuring the Thelonious Monk Quartet of Monk (piano), Charlie Rouse (tenor sax), John Ore (bass), and Frankie Dunlop (drums).
  8. The name of the band, album and tracks are derived from the letters of the forenames of Collin Walcott (tabla, sitar), Don Cherry (tpt, p, hunter’s guitar), and Nana Vasconcelos (per). This is multi-ethnic improvisational music, emerging from Walcott’s interest in Eastern Indian rhythms and Vasconcelos’s Brazilian heritage.
  9. Walcott appears again here with Paul McCandless, Glen Moore and Ralph Towner which was the classic Oregon line up. A 1974 release on the Vanguard Lable.

World of Jazz Radio Show – 26th April 2012

On this weeks show, which you can listen to via this link:


1 Jackie McLean Flickers Jackie McLean & Co
2 Lou Blackburn New Frontier The Complete Imperial Sessions
3 Cannonball Adderley with Bill Evans Waltz for Debby Know What I Mean?
4 Jack Wilson A Time For Love Easterly Winds
5 Tribe Denekas Chant Rebirth
6 Bill Evans Woody’n You On Green Dolphin Street
7 Baby Face Willette High ‘n’ Low Face to Face
8 Ray Draper Quintet House of Davis Tuba Sounds
9 The Kilimanjaro Dark Jazz Ensemble Palace of the Tiger Women TKDA vs Kava Kon Remixes
10 John Zorn’s Naked City The Sicilian Clan Naked City


World of Jazz – 29th December 2011

On this show

  • Cannonball Adderley – Love For Sale – Somethin’ Else (1958)
  • Cornelius Claudio Kreusch – So! – Black Mud Sound (1995)
  • Patricia Barber – The Beat Goes On – Companion (1999)
  • Marcus Miller – Tales – Tales (1994)
  • Club D’Elf – As Above – Live at Tonic, New York (2005)
  • Bruford Levin Upper Extremities – Etude Revisited – BLUE Nights (2000)
  • Andy Sheppard – Still Passing – Dancing Man and Woman (2000)
  • Oliver Nelson – Stolen Moments – The Blues and the Abstract Truth (1961)
 To listen click the link below

World of Jazz – 29th December 2011 by Bobonscr on Mixcloud

World of Jazz – 6th October 2011

On this show:

  • Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers – Lester Left Town -The Blue Note recordings of Art Blakey’s 1960 Jazz Messengers – wrongly described by me on the show as a recent release – this actually came out in 1992 – I was getting confused with the Miles Davis set next up in the show. This Wayne Shorter classic shows this great line-up at its very best.
  • Miles Davis Quintet – Riot- Live in Europe 1967 The Bootleg Series Volume 1 – A brand new mammoth 3 CD/1 DVD release which captures a series of live dates from the second great quintet. Comparable to “The Complete Live at the Plugged Nickel” in the mind stretching ability of this band to deconstruct and revive jazz….on the show I describe this as Round Midnight when it is in fact Riot – this is due to my ineptitude and the mislabling of the CD….that’ll teach me to pay more attention.
  • Bob James – Night Crawler – Heads –  Grover Washington, Jr. (tenor & soprano sax) and David Sanborn (alto sax) feature on this 1977 date from James – derided by the purists at too “pop” i’d argue it acts as a useful counterpoint and yardstick to the more challenging end of the jazz world.
  • Cannonball Adderley – Make Your Own Temple – Soul of the Bible – A 1972 release from Cannonball’s quintet featuring four additional percussionists and George Duke on Keyboards.
  • Nat Adderley – Funny Funny – Don’t Look Back – A 1976 release on Steeplechase featuring Fernando Gumbs (bass) Onaje Allan Gumbs (piano) Nat Adderley (cornet) Ken McIntyre (alto sax, oboe, bassoon, flute, bass clarinet) John Stubblefield (tenor sax, soprano sax)Ira Buddy Williams (drums) Victor See Yuen (congas, percussion).
  • Miles Davis Quintet – Footprints – Live in Europe 1967 The Bootleg Series Volume 1  – another tune from Disc 2 of this great release with Wayne Shorter’s keynote composition.
  • Harold Land – In the back, in the corner, in the dark – Damisi – modal music from 1974 showing the early influences of fusion and funk – the excellent Buster Williams is on bass. Must play more Harold Land as he is terribly underrated which is great pity for such a great musician.
  • Miles Davis Quintet – Riot – Live in Europe 1967 The Bootleg Series Volume 1  – a Herbie Hancock composition from the third CD of this great set.
  • The Shadows – Nivram – Out of the Shadows – as requested by drummer of this parish Mr Michael John Leigh who advises this tune forms the basis of part of The Blimps recent Bin Bag Shuffle release (still available free as a download from here). Is it Jazz? I think so….
  • Gabor Szabo – The Fortune Teller – Dreams – Third stream wonderment from Szabo from 1969….
Listen to the show by following the link below…..